Deciding to Go

So I decided I would go. I had no red tape, no administration, and no committees to satisfy. I would raise as much money as I could and go to as many orphanages as I could, and buy what they needed. I contacted a small privately run NGO that liaises with, and promotes orphanages in the Eastern district. They informed me that many small orphanages were already stretched to the limit and unable to cope. Although most orphanages receive rations and assistance from the government, equal to about 10 Rupees per day per child, the actual cost of feeding the children are about 18 Rupees per day per child. They gave me a long list of children’s homes, each with its own list of basic needs, including school books, uniforms, and shoes.

Leave a Reply

